President

John Stanskas San Bernardino Valley College

Vice President Dolores Davison Foothill College

Secretary Craig Rutan Santiago Canyon College

TreasurerVirginia "Ginni" May
Sacramento City College

Area A Representative Geoffrey Dyer Taft College

Area B Representative Conan McKay Mendocino College

Area C Representative Rebecca Eikey College of the Canyons

Area D Representative Samuel Foster Fullerton College

North Representative Cheryl Aschenbach Lassen College

North Representative Carrie Roberson Butte College

South Representative LaTonya Parker Moreno Valley College

South Representative Anna Bruzzese Los Angeles Pierce College

Representative at Large Mayra Cruz De Anza College

Representative at Large Silvester Henderson Los Medanos College

Executive Director Vacant

Subject: Hayward Award for "Excellence in Education"

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Hayward Award for "Excellence in Education." Sponsored annually by the Foundation for California Community Colleges, this award honors community college full-time and part-time faculty who demonstrate the highest level of commitment to their students, college, and profession. Award recipients, nominated by their college academic senate and selected by representatives of the Academic Senate must have a record of outstanding performance of professional activities, as well as, a record of active participation on campus.

Basic Information

- Each local senate can nominate one full- and part- time faculty member, however there can only be one honoree from each college.
- All faculty, classroom and non-classroom, are eligible for consideration.
- Previous nominees who did not receive the award may be re-nominated.
- Four recipients (two full-time and two part-time faculty)-will be chosen and honored at the Board of Governors' meeting in Sacramento.
- Completed applications must be received in the Academic Senate Office by 5:00 p.m. on December 17, 2018.

Enclosed are the application and criteria. More information can be found on the Academic Senate website at http://asccc.org/events/hayward-award-0. Please note, that the applicant's name or college cannot be listed in the application unless stated otherwise. Any applications that include the candidate's name or college will be disqualified. A minimum of three nominations must be received for the selection process to proceed.

Please submit one original and one copy of your entire application via email or mail. FAX applications will not be accepted. Submit mail applications to: One Capitol Mall, Suite 340, Sacramento, CA 95814. Scanned applications must have the appropriate signatures and be emailed to awards@asccc.org. The Senate Office will notify you via email that your application has been received.

The selection process will be completed by February 11, 2019. Winners will be honored at the March 20, 2019 Board of Governors meeting in Sacramento. Please note, that the recipients of this award will be asked to submit a current photo. Although only four faculty recipients will be honored by the Board of Governors, we hope each college will honor its individual nominee.

Collegially,

Krystinne Mica

Chief Operating Officer

Enclosure (4)