

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, January 11, 2021

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. on Zoom (Virtual Campus until June 2021)

2020-21 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Eric Kuenhl (Vice President), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Rachelle Campbell, Cara Miyasaki; CNSL: Tracee Cunnigham, Voltaire Villanueva; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Stephanie Chan, David McCormick; LIB: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Mary Anne Sunseri; SRC: Mimi Overton. Liaisons: Admin (Cabinet): Kristy Lisle; Kurt Hueg; Melissa Cervantes; ASFC: Abhiraj Muhar; Classified: Josh Pelletier; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft.

1.11.21 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	AS Meeting Norms
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 12.7.20 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2020 12 7
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of Consent Calendar	В			See Consent Calendar
6	2:10	President's 2021 Welcome & Update, and Q&A with Senate	I		Nguyen	
7	2:25	Shared Governance Updates 1. Return to Campus Planning 2. Equity & Education 3. Other	I	Increase flow of information, and provide opportunity for AS reps to ask for guidance	Maurer, Carrillo, All	Senate Committee Reports 12.15.20
Unf	inished Bu	ısiness			l	•
8	2:35	Equity 2.0 – 1st Read 1. Update on status, including signed affirmations 2. FA feedback 3. Senator & constituent feedback 4. Next steps	I, D, A	Senate updated with current status of Plan, provided options for approval/affirmation, and given opportunity to share constituent feedback	Cervantes, Holcroft, Hypolite, Fox, All	Equity 2.0 (Nov. 25 th draft) FA FH Equity Plan Response
9	3:05	Student Open Letter to Governance – AS Response & Follow-Up	I, D, A	Senators updated with formal AS response and agree on prioritization of next steps	Maurer, All	AS Formal Response to Student Letter AS Letter to President Nguyen RE Student Letter AS Action Plan in Response to Student Letter ASFC Town Hall
Nev	w Business		T		T	1
10	3:20	Collegiality in Action Visit – Feb. 5 th	I, D	Senators understand request for visit, expectations of	Maurer	ASCCC Collegiality in Action

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
				attendees, and desired outcomes of the visit		
11	3:35	Academic Senate Constitution & Budget Ad Hoc Workgroup – 1 st read	I, D	Senators review & discuss proposed charter, and begin solicitation of appointees	Maurer & Cormia	Constitution Ad Hoc Workgroup Charter
12	3:45	Program Creation & Discontinuance Ad Hoc Workgroup – 1 st read	I, D	Senators review & discuss proposed charter, and begin solicitation of appointees	Maurer & Kuehnl	Program Discontinuance Ad Hoc Workgroup Charter
Standing Items						
13	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
14	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

^{*}Times are approximate

1.11.21 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 20-21 1.11.21

UPCOMING PRIORITY TOPICS FOR 2020-21

- 1. Accreditation Midterm Report (SLO's)
- 2. Distance Ed Policies (Regular & Effective Contact)
- 3. Academic Integrity Policies & Procedures
- 4. Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)/Competency Based Education (CBE)

UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 20-21 1.6.21

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

• Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- · Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) Independent subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) Independent subcommittee
- COVID Scheduling Task Force
- Faculty Hiring Prioritization Process Study Group
- Ethnic Studies Steering Committee
- Ethnic Studies Advisory Committee

CALENDAR OF 2020-2021 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are held in Zoom while the campus remains virtual.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2020 Quarter	Winter 2021 Quarter	Spring 2021 Quarter
9/28/20	1/11/21	4/5/21*
10/12/20	1/25/21	4/12/21
10/26/20	2/8/21	4/26/21
11/2/20*	2/22/21	5/10/21
11/9/20	3/15/21	5/24/21
11/16/20		6/7/21
11/30/20		TBD Fall Planning Retreat
12/7/20		

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate & Liaisons; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Melissa Cervantes (Dean of Equity); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); Jose Nava (Dean BSS); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA/AC); Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President); Isaac Escoto (District Academic Senate President); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Priya Vasu (Student Trustee); Jayme Albritton (ASFC); Jasslie Altamirano (ASFC); Patrick Morriss (E&E); Laura Gamez (C&C); Katy Ripp (AC); Justin Gauthier (AC); Brian Evans (R&R); Kathy Perino (R&R); Luis Carrillo (E&E), Ileana da Silva (E&E); Sam Connell (C&C); Bruce Mc Leod (C&C); Ellen Judd (C&C)