

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, March 1, 2021 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. on Zoom (Virtual Campus until June 2021)

2020-21 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Eric Kuehnl (Vice President), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Rachelle Campbell, Cara Miyasaki; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Voltaire Villanueva; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Stephanie Chan, David McCormick; LIB: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Farima Fakoor; SRC: Mimi Overton. Liaisons: Admin (Cabinet): Kristy Lisle (Kurt Hueg); ASFC: Abhiraj Muhar; Classified: Josh Pelletier; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft

3.1.21 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	AS Meeting Norms
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 2.22.21 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2021_2_22
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of Consent Calendar	В			See Consent Calendar
6	2:10	Division/Area Senator Check- In re Collegiality in Action & Governance	1	Senators share division & constituent feedback, questions, concerns, and asks related Collegiality in Action follow-up and shared governance in general	Division/Area Senators	
7	2:30	Academic Senate Representatives to Governance Check-In re Collegiality in Action & Governance	I	Senate reps share their feedback, questions, concerns, and asks related Collegiality in Action follow-up and shared governance in general	Senate reps to governance councils, committees, study groups, etc.	
8	2:45	Liaisons/Guests Check-In re Collegiality in Action & Governance	I	Liaisons & guests share their feedback, questions, concerns, and asks related Collegiality in Action follow-up and shared governance in general	Liaisons/Guests	
9	3:00	Open Discussion	D	Senators analyze feedback from all and articulate needs and proposed next steps	Maurer/All	
10	3:15	Senate Constitution Workgroup Update	I, D	Senators updated with workgroup progress and have opportunity to provide input into the	Maurer, Cormia, Frankel,	

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
				direction of key decision-	Thomas, Ryer,	
				points	Kuehnl, Fong,	
11	3:40	Treasurer's Report	I, D		Cormia	
12	3:45	PT Faculty Stipends	I, D	Review current stipend amounts and discuss budgeting challenges and possible ways to address	Maurer/All	
Standing Items						
13	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
14	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

*Times are approximate

Action Legend: **B=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

***Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

3.1.21 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 20-21 3.1.21

UPCOMING PRIORITY TOPICS FOR 2020-21

- 1. Mental Health Awareness Resources & Resolution
- 2. New Senate Workgroup Financial Literacy
- 3. New Senate Workgroup Faculty Diversity
- 4. Senate/CCC/COOL Action Plans for Equity 2.0
- 5. Accreditation Midterm Report (SLO's)
- 6. Distance Ed Policies (Regular & Effective Contact)
- 7. Academic Integrity Policies & Procedures
- 8. Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)/Competency Based Education (CBE)

UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 20-21 3.1.21

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies

- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) Independent subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) Independent subcommittee
- COVID Scheduling Task Force
- Faculty Hiring Prioritization Process Study Group
- Ethnic Studies Steering Committee
- Ethnic Studies Advisory Committee
- Academic Senate Constitution Ad Hoc Workgroup
- Program Discontinuance Ad Hoc Workgroup

CALENDAR OF 2020-2021 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are held in Zoom while the campus remains virtual.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2020 Quarter	Winter 2021 Quarter	Spring 2021 Quarter
9/28/20	1/11/21	4/5/21*
10/12/20	1/25/21	4/12/21
10/26/20	2/8/21	4/26/21
11/2/20*	2/22/21	5/10/21
11/9/20	3/1/21	5/24/21
11/16/20	3/15/21	6/7/21
11/30/20		TBD Fall Planning Retreat
12/7/20		

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate & Liaisons; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); Jose Nava (Dean BSS); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA/AC); Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President); Isaac Escoto (District Academic Senate President); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Priya Vasu (Student Trustee); Jayme Albritton (ASFC); Jasslie Altamirano (ASFC); Patrick Morriss (E&E); Laura Gamez (C&C); Katy Ripp (AC); Justin Gauthier (AC); Brian Evans (R&R); Kathy Perino (R&R); Juston Glass (R&R); Luis Carrillo (E&E), Ileana da Silva (E&E); Sam Connell (C&C); Bruce Mc Leod (C&C); Ellen Judd (C&C)