

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday May 3, 2021 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. on Zoom (Virtual Campus until June 2021)

2020-21 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Eric Kuehnl (Vice President), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Rachelle Campbell, Cara Miyasaki; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Voltaire Villanueva; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Stephanie Chan, David McCormick; LIB: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Farima Fakoor; SRC: Mimi Overton. Liaisons: Admin (Cabinet): Kristy Lisle (Kurt Hueg); ASFC: Abhiraj Muhar; Classified: Josh Pelletier; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft

# 5.3.21 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	AS Meeting Norms
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 4.26.21 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2021 4 26
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of Consent Calendar	В			See Consent Calendar
6	2:10	Shared Governance Updates 1. COOL 2. Other	I	Increase flow of information, and provide opportunity for AS reps to ask for guidance	Open	
Unf	inished Bu	siness				
7	2:20	Senate Constitution-By-Laws & Elections. Focus of discussion: 1. Approval of Officers & Division Reps 2. Composition of the Executive Committee, 3. Duties, eligibility & term limits 4. Election Committee	I, D, A	Senators discuss and approve proposals for changes to Constitution & By Laws and plan for elections	Maurer/All	<u>New AS Constitution</u> <u>Draft April 26</u>
8	2:50	Student Onboarding Deep Dive	I, D	Senators able to differentiate parts of campus where Onboarding Team efforts are ongoing, identify and inform the focus and purpose of current onboarding efforts, and describe ways for faculty colleagues to be involved in these efforts	Fernandez, Meacham	
9	3:15	Response to the AS Letter to President Nguyen in Response	I, D	President provided opportunity to respond to the senate, and have	Nguyen/All	AS Letter to President Nguyen in Response to

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
		to Collegiality in Action and		dialogue regarding		Collegiality in Action
		Decision-Making Concerns		concerns and proposed		and Decision-Making
				actions		<u>Concerns</u>
Standing Items						
10	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
11	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

\*Times are approximate

\*\*Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

\*\*\*Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

## 5.3.21 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*	
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 20-21 5.3.21	

## **UPCOMING PRIORITY TOPICS FOR 2020-21**

- 1. Faculty Hiring Procedures
- 2. Accreditation Midterm Report (SLO's)
- 3. New Senate Workgroup Financial Literacy
- 4. New Senate Workgroup Faculty Diversity
- 5. Senate/CCC/COOL Action Plans for Equity 2.0
- 6. Distance Ed Policies (Regular & Effective Contact)
- 7. Academic Integrity Policies & Procedures
- 8. Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)/Competency Based Education (CBE)

### UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 20-21 4.27.21

### ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

# "The 10+1"

### Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

### Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

Foothill College Academic Senate Agenda 5.3.21

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

### ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) Independent subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) Independent subcommittee
- COVID Scheduling Task Force
- Faculty Hiring Prioritization Process Study Group
- Ethnic Studies Steering Committee
- Ethnic Studies Advisory Committee
- Academic Senate Constitution Ad Hoc Workgroup
- Program Discontinuance Ad Hoc Workgroup

### CALENDAR OF 2020-2021 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are held in Zoom while the campus remains virtual.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- \*indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2020 Quarter	Winter 2021 Quarter	Spring 2021 Quarter			
<del>9/28/20</del>	<del>1/11/21</del>	4 <del>/5/21</del>			
<del>10/12/20</del>	<del>1/25/21</del>	<del>4/12/21*</del>			
<del>10/26/20</del>	<del>2/8/21</del>	4 <del>/26/21</del>			
<del>11/2/20*</del>	2/22/21	5/3/21			
<del>11/9/20</del>	<del>3/1/21</del>	5/10/21			
<del>11/16/20</del>	<del>3/15/21</del>	5/24/21			
<del>11/30/20</del>		6/7/21			
<del>12/7/20</del>		6/14/21 – 2021-22 Planning Retreat			

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate & Liaisons; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); Jose Nava (Dean BSS); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Tim Shively (FA); Rich Hansen (FA); Amy Edwards (FA/AC); Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President); Isaac Escoto (District Academic Senate President); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Priya Vasu (Student Trustee); Jayme Albritton (ASFC); Jasslie Altamirano (ASFC); Mike Mohebbi (Classified Senate); Patrick Morriss (E&E); Laura Gamez (C&C); Katy Ripp (AC); Justin Gauthier (AC); Brian Evans (R&R); Kathy Perino (R&R); Juston Glass (R&R); Luis Carrillo (E&E), Ileana da Silva (E&E); Sam Connell (C&C); Bruce Mc Leod (C&C); Ellen Judd (C&C); Warren Voyce (RTCC); Leticia Serna (RTCC); Christina Rotsides (RTCC); Rebecca Ryan (RTCC); Karen Erickson (RTCC)