

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, November 2, 2020

2:00 – 2:30 p.m. on Zoom (Virtual Campus until April 2021)

Note: Joint Meeting with De Anza Academic Senate immediately follows from 2:30-4:00, under a separate agenda

2020-21 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Eric Kuenhl (Vice President), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Rachelle Campbell, Cara Miyasaki; CNSL: Tracee Cunnigham, Voltaire Villanueva; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Stephanie Chan, David McCormick; LIB: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Mary Anne Sunseri; SRC: Mimi Overton. Liaisons: Admin (Cabinet): Kristy Lisle; Kurt Hueg; Melissa Cervantes; ASFC: Abhiraj Muhar; Classified: Josh Pelletier; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft.

## 10.26.20 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***		
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	AS Meeting Norms		
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia			
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 10.26.20 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2020_10_26		
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I					
5	2:10	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Maurer	See Consent Calendar		
Unfinished Business – none as this is a special meeting, moved to 11/9								
Nev	v Business							
6	2:10	Treasurer's Report	I	Senators informed of current AS funds & anticipated 2020-21 revenue & expenses	Cormia			
7	2:15	Academic Senate Scholarships	I, D	Senators informed of past practice associated with AS Scholarships and discuss options for this year	Marasco			
8	2:20	ASCCC Exemplary Program Award Nominations	I, D, A	Senators share nominations, and agree on one nominee for the award (if applicable)	Maurer	ASCCC Exemplary Award Program (link to ASCCC website)		
9	2:25	Announcements	I		All			
10	2:30	Adjournment of Foothill AS meeting to join joint FH/DA Academic Senate meeting	В		Maurer	Zoom link to joint FH/DA Academic Senate meeting		

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

#### 11.2.20 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 20-21
		<u>11.2.20</u>

## **UPCOMING PRIORITY TOPICS FOR FALL QUARTER 2020-21**

- 1. Equity 2.0
- 2. Program Discontinuance Processes
- 3. Accreditation Midterm Report (SLO's)
- 4. Guided Pathways
- 5. ASCCC Disciplines List & Minimum Qualifications (any proposed changes due by Feb.)

## **UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE**

Senate Appointments 20-21 10.29.20

### **ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE**

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

### "The 10+1"

# Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

### Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

## **ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS**

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) Independent subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) Independent subcommittee
- COVID Scheduling Task Force
- Faculty Hiring Prioritization Process Study Group

- Ethnic Studies Steering Committee
- Ethnic Studies Advisory Committee

## **CALENDAR OF 2020-2021 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS**

- All begin at 2PM and are held in Zoom while the campus remains virtual.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- \*indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2020 Quarter	Winter 2021 Quarter	Spring 2021 Quarter
<del>9/28/20</del>	1/11/21	4/5/21*
<del>10/12/20</del>	1/25/21	4/12/21
<del>10/26/20</del>	2/8/21	4/26/21
11/2/20*	2/22/21	5/10/21
11/9/20	3/15/21	5/24/21
11/16/20		6/7/21
11/30/20		TBD Fall Planning Retreat
12/7/20		

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate & Liaisons; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Melissa Cervantes (Dean of Equity); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA/AC); Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President); Isaac Escoto (District Academic Senate President); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Priya Vasu (Student Trustee); Jayme Albritton (ASFC); Jasslie Altamirano (ASFC); Patrick Morriss (E&E); Laura Gamez (C&C); Katy Ripp (AC); Justin Gauthier (AC); Brian Evans (R&R); Sara Cooper (R&R); Luis Carrillo (E&E), Ileana da Silva (E&E); Sam Connell (C&C); Bruce Mc Leod (C&C); Ellen Judd (C&C)