

Foothill College Academic Senate **Executive Committee Meeting Agenda** Monday, October 12, 2020

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. on Zoom (Virtual Campus until April 2021)

2020-21 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Eric Kuenhl (Vice President), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Rachelle Campbell, Cara Miyasaki; CNSL: Tracee Cunnigham, Voltaire Villanueva; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Stephanie Chan, David McCormick; LIB: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Mary Anne Sunseri; SRC: Mimi Overton. Liaisons: Admin (Cabinet): Kristy Lisle; ASFC: Abhiraj Muhar; Classified: Josh Pelletier; FacAssoc: John Fox; **Prof. Dev.:** Carolyn Holcroft.

10.12.20 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 09.28.20 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2020 09 28
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of Consent Calendar	В			See Consent Calendar
6	2:10	Shared Governance Updates 1. Governance Councils- Advisory & R&R 2. CCC 3. COOL	I	Senators kept informed of shared governance topics and decision-points	Maurer, Miyasaki, Kuehnl, Ryer	Senate Committee Reports 09.28.20
Unfinished Business						
7	2:25	Getting Senate Work Done: Agreeing to meeting norms	D, A	Senators agree to meeting norms that foster inclusivity and diversity of perspectives	Maurer, All	Using Meeting Norms to Foster Inclusivity AS Draft Meeting Norms
8	2:40	COVID Scheduling Taskforce: Approving Guiding Principles & Class Prioritization Criteria – 2nd Read	D, A	Senators asked to approve Guiding Principles for a "Return instruction to campus plan" and criteria for prioritizing classes	Maurer, Lisle	COVID Scheduling Taskforce Guiding Principles & Criteria
9	2:55	Faculty Prioritization Taskforce Update: 2020-21 Full-time Faculty Position Request Prioritization Process – 2 nd Read	D, A	Senators asked to approve a "temporary" process for 2020-21, while the group continues to work on the permanent process	Maurer, Marasco, Subramaniam, Lee	Faculty Prioritization Interim Process V3
10	3:10	June 2020 Senate Equity Resolutions: Action for Creation of Ethnic Studies Department	I, D, A	Senators informed of proposals to work towards the creation of an Ethnic Studies Department	Marasco, Villanueva, Huerta	Foothill AS Equity Resolutions June 2020

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
11	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
12	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

^{*}Times are approximate

10.12.20 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*	
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointments Consent	
		<u>Calendar 2020 10 12</u>	

UPCOMING PRIORITY TOPICS FOR FALL QUARTER 2020-21

- 1. Equity Resolutions, particularly Equity 2.0
- 2. Accreditation Midterm Report (SLO's)
- 3. Program Discontinuance Processes
- 4. Guided Pathways
- 5. District Policies: Credit for Prior Learning
- 6. Academic Senate Constitution and By-Laws
- 7. Academic Senate Scholarships

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

<u>Primary Areas of Reliance</u>

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) Independent subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) Independent subcommittee
- COVID Scheduling Task Force
- Faculty Hiring Prioritization Process Study Group

CALENDAR OF 2020-2021 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are held in Zoom while the campus remains virtual.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2020 Quarter	Winter 2021 Quarter	Spring 2021 Quarter
9/28/20	1/11/21	4/5/21*
10/12/20	1/25/21	4/12/21
10/26/20	2/8/21	4/26/21
11/2/20*	2/22/21	5/10/21
11/16/20	3/15/21	5/24/21
11/30/20		6/7/21
		TBD Fall Planning Retreat

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate & Liaisons; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Melissa Cervantes (Dean of Equity); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Patrick Morriss (Faculty Tri-Chair E&E); Laura Gamez (Faculty Tri-Chair C&C); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President); Isaac Escoto (District Academic Senate President); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Priya Vasu (Student Trustee); Jayme Albritton (ASFC); Jasslie Altamirano (ASFC)