

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, September 28, 2020

2:00 - 4:00 p.m. on Zoom (Virtual Campus until April 2021)

2020-21 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Eric Kuenhl (Vice President), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Rachelle Campbell, Cara Miyasaki; CNSL: Tracee Cunnigham, Voltaire Villanueva; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Stephanie Chan, David McCormick; LIB: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Mary Anne Sunseri; SRC: Mimi Overton. Liaisons: Admin (Cabinet): Kristy Lisle; ASFC: Abhiraj Muhar; Classified: Josh Pelletier; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft.

## 09.28.20 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 09.01.20 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2020 09 01
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of Consent Calendar	В			See Consent Calendar
6	2:10	Academic Senate President's Update -Committee updates & service needs -Governance & budget update -Fall retreat update	I	Senators informed to be able to report back to constituents and solicit feedback including volunteers for service	Maurer	Senate Committee Reports 09.28.20; Academic Senate Orientation Sept 2020; Academic Senate 2020-21 Priorities
7	2:30	Getting Senate Work Done: Agreeing to meeting norms and options for addressing priorities	I, D	Senators contribute to a set of agreements around meeting norms that foster inclusivity and diversity of perspectives, and propose structures for an efficient and effective Senate	Holcroft, All	
8	2:45	COVID Scheduling Taskforce Update: Approving Guiding Principles & Class Prioritization Criteria – 1 <sup>st</sup> Read	I, D	Senators updated with the work of the taskforce and asked to approve Guiding Principles for a "Return instruction to campus plan" and criteria for prioritizing classes	Maurer, Lisle	COVID Scheduling Taskforce Guiding Principles & Criteria
9	3:00	Faculty Prioritization Taskforce Update: 2020-21 Full-time Faculty Position Request Prioritization Process – 1st Read	I, D	Senators updated with the work of the taskforce and asked to approve a "temporary" process for	Maurer, Marasco, Subramaniam, Lee	Faculty Prioritization Interim Process

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
				2020-21, while the group continues to work on the permanent process		
10	3:20	June 2020 Senate Equity Resolutions: Action and Accountability	I, D	Senators review the four resolutions and propose tangible "next steps" for action and accountability	Maurer, All	Foothill AS Equity Resolutions June 2020
11	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
12	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

#### 09.28.20 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments:	Senate Appointments 20-21 09.28.20
	2020-21 Academic Senate Executive Committee	
	2. Academic Senate Sub-Committees	
	3. Governance Councils & Study Groups	
	4. District Committees	
	5. Tenure Review Committees	
	6. Hiring Committees	
	7. Student Grievance/Due Process Pool	
	8. Program Review Readers	
	9. ASCCC Liaison Positions	
2	Approve Isaac Escoto Recognition Resolution June 2020	Isaac Escoto Recognition Resolution

# **ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE**

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

# "The 10+1"

## Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities

#### Areas of Joint Development

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development

#### **ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS**

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) Independent subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) Independent subcommittee
- COVID Scheduling Task Force
- Faculty Hiring Prioritization Process Study Group

## **CALENDAR OF 2020-2021 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS**

- All begin at 2PM and are held in Zoom while the campus remains virtual.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- \*indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2020 Quarter	Winter 2021 Quarter	Spring 2021 Quarter
9/28/20	1/11/21	4/5/21*
10/12/20	1/25/21	4/12/21
10/26/20	2/8/21	4/26/21
11/2/20*	2/22/21	5/10/21
11/16/20	3/15/21	5/24/21
11/30/20		6/7/21
		TBD Fall Planning Retreat

## **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate & Liaisons; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Melissa Cervantes (Dean of Equity); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Patrick Morriss (Faculty Tri-Chair E&E); Laura Gamez (Faculty Tri-Chair C&C); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President); Isaac Escoto (District Academic Senate President); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Priya Vasu (Student Trustee)