

Title of Ad Hoc Group: **Program Discontinuance Workgroup** Senate/Faculty Chair(s): Kathryn Maurer and Eric Kuehnl Co-Chaired with the Office of Instruction: Kristy Lisle

Background

<u>BP6015/AP6015</u> (2012) required the college to develop a Program Discontinuance Procedure. No such procedure has been formally adopted by the college. The few programs that have been recently discontinued were discontinued at the request of faculty, and not due to any specific criteria established as a program discontinuance triggering mechanism.

This workgroup shall, in collaboration with shared governance processes facilitated by the Advisory Council, develop an *instructional* Program Discontinuance Procedure that meets the requirements set forth in BP6015/AP6015. This procedure will also clearly distinguish between program discontinuance (or reduction) criteria (triggers) that will be utilized in response to budget reduction, versus other programmatic ones that are not specifically budget related. This procedure must also include mechanisms to identify and evaluate potential district-wide consequences, and specify the points and mechanisms by which the two colleges will communicate regarding any potential program discontinuance.

For purposes of the scope of this workgroup, we are using the following definition of an "instructional program": An organized sequence of courses leading to a defined objective(s), degree(s), certificate(s), diploma(s), or License(s); or leading to eligibility for transfer to another institution of higher education.

The workgroup acknowledges that a separate *non-instructional* (student services/support) program discontinuance procedure also needs to be developed, but is beyond the scope of this charter.

Membership

Any full or part-time Foothill faculty member is welcome to volunteer. Priority will be given to faculty who are current or past members of the Senate Executive Committee and/or one of the four governance councils.

Additionally, the workgroup welcomes any student, staff or administrator appointed by the Advisory Council to the workgroup.

The target size for the workgroup is 4-6 members, with a minimum of 4 and a maximum of 10 (for scheduling purposes), and a minimum of 50% of the workgroup members being faculty.

Structure

The Senate President (Advisory Council Faculty Tri-Chair) and Vice President (CCC Faculty

Co-Chair) will co-chair the workgroup together with the Office of Instruction. The faculty co-chairs will schedule and convene meetings and manage the creation and execution of a work plan. The Office of Instruction will facilitate the gathering of all relevant documents and support the workgroup with needed data. All members will help identify and review documents, such as program discontinuation procedures at other institutions (including De Anza), gather input and feedback as needed, and help draft a new Program Discontinuance Procedure. The workgroup will work both synchronously with regular meetings (likely every two weeks) and asynchronously (via a shared online workspace). The workgroup will bring their work to the both the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate and the Advisory Council for discussion and approval.

Time Frame

Appointments to the workgroup will begin on January 11th, and work will begin immediately and end with the formal approval by both the Academic Senate and the Advisory Council of the new Program Discontinuance Procedure, with a target date of May 2021.