

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, April 21, 2025

2:00-3:55 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and \underline{Zoom}

Meeting ID: 823 3995 1505 Passcode: 631666

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2024-25 Executive Committee Members (33): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell, Nate Vennarucci; BSS: Mona Rawal, Ryer; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Fatima Jinnah; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Hilary Gomes, Eric Kuehnl; HSH: Lydia Daniel, Brenda Hanning; KA: Don Mac Neil, Rita O'laughlin; LA:, Stephanie Chan, Amber La Piana; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Katie Ha; STEM: Ryan Pugh, Jennifer Sinclair; PT Reps: Michael Chang, Lynette Vega; Other Members: ASFC: Paulo Verzosa; Classified: Doreen Finkelstein; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of Teaching with Technology: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Faculty serving other roles: Evan Gilstrap Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

4.21.25 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action*	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:10	Public Comment on items not	_			
		on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)****				
5	2:15	Approval of 4.7.25 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• <u>April 7, 2025</u> <u>Minutes</u>
6	2:20	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent
						• Calendar
7	2:25	ASFC President Updates to the	_	ASFC President to share current	Verzosa	
		Academic Senate		student issues and/or events		
8	2:30	Role and Responsibilities of the	1	Provide an overview of the Academic	Morriss	
		Academic Senate in Selecting		Senate's historical and current		
		the Commencement Speaker		involvement in the nomination		
				process for faculty commencement		
	2.25	5 1 1: (5)4 6 1 11		speakers	vell	- DD 4220
9	2:35	Evaluation of FW Grade Usage	D, A	To determine whether Foothill	Villanueva	• BP 4230
		and Potential Policy Alignment with De Anza College		should maintain, modify, or discontinue the FW grade		• <u>AP 4230</u> • FW
		With De Aliza College		discontinue the r w grade		Considerations
10	2:45	Campus Safety Infrastructure	1	Update from the Police Chief on the	Acosta	CONSIDERATIONS
		Update	·	status and progress of door lock		
				installations across campus		
	3:05	Break		·		
11	3:10	Academic Senate Elections and	D, A	Conduct a vote by acclamation for	Villanueva	• <u>Candidate</u>
		Vote by Acclamation		uncontested Senate officer positions:		statements
				Executive Vice President, Vice		
				President of Curriculum, and At-		
				Large Part-Time Faculty		
				Representative		

12	3:20	Campus Signage Redesign: Findings and Proposed Direction	I	Presentation from the Signage Redesign Team on their research, findings, and proposed direction for updating campus signage to improve visibility, navigation, and campus identity	Pennington	
13	3:30	Introduction to Proposed Institutional Learning Outcomes	ı	Introduce the draft Institutional Learning Outcomes (ILOs) and invite initial feedback with the goal of incorporating comments by May 5, presenting a first read on May 19, and holding a final vote on June 2.	Meezan	Draft Institutional Learning Outcomes
14	3:35	ASCCC Plenary Resolutions	I, D	Review and discuss selected ASCCC resolutions with a focus on their intent, and clarity to prepare informed delegate votes and possible feedback or amendments.	Villanueva, Morriss, Kaupp	• ASCCC Resolutions Packet - For Discussion – Friday, April 25, 2025

Stan	Standing Items					
15	3:45	Officer & Committee Reports • Academic and Professional Matters	I		All	
16	3:50	Announcements and for the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
17	3:55	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

^{*}Times are approximate

4.21.25 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	4.21.25 Consent Calendar

Remote Attendance Locations:

Rita O'Loughlin
 1037 Taft Street
 Redwood City, CA 94061

In District: No

CALENDAR OF 2024-2025 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2024 Quarter	Winter 2025 Quarter	Spring 2025 Quarter
September 30	January 13	April 7
October 14	January 27	April 21
October 28	February 10	May 5
November 4	February 24	May 19
November 18	March 10	June 2
December 2	March 17	June 16 (retreat)

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

^{****}At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is not on the agenda. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); vacant (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Stephanie Crosby (Dean DRC/VRC); Isaac Escoto (Interim Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Peter Landsberger (President, Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee); Doreen Finkelstein (Classified Senate President); Anu Khanna (Interim Vice Chancellor, Organizational Effectiveness and Engagement); Chris Dela Rosa (Vice Chancellor, Business Services); Dianna Rose (Vice Chancellor, Human Resources & Equal Opportunity); Jory Hadsell (Vice Chancellor, Technology);